The race consists of 12 stages, divided between females (5 stages) and males (stages 7). If a man participates at a female stage, a time penalty will be given (see race regulations). After the end of the race, all times and penalties will be summed to a total time. This time will determine the winner of the Veluweloop.



Start, Sports centre de Bongerd

    Distance (km) M/F
1 De Bongerd – Oostereng 5.7 F
2 Oostereng – Gelderse Roos 7.3 M
3 Gelderse Roos – De Petteflet 9.0 M
4 De Petteflet – Vredenoord 5.1 F

Restart Vredenoord

5 Vredenoord – Beerenberg 8.9 M
6 Beerenberg – Emma Piramide 4.3 F
7 Emma Piramide – IPC 8.0 M
8 IPC – Vredenoord 8.2 M

Restart Vredenoord

9 Vredenoord – Planken Wambuis 8.1 F
10 Planken Wambuis – Oostereng 11.8 M
11 Oostereng – Campus WUR 6.0 F

Restart Campus WUR (near Orion)

12 Campus WUR – De Bongerd 4.2 M

Note: every year the first and last stage switch gender. In 2022 the first stage is a female stage and the last stage is a male stage. It is not allowed to switch gender on the last stage.


Stages and distances for long distance runners

      Distance (km)
1 De Bongerd Vredenoord 27.1
2 Vredenoord Vredenoord 29.4
3 Vredenoord Campus WUR 26.0
4 Campus WUR De Bongerd 4.2


The Veluweloop officially opens at 8:45. The first group will start at 9 o'clock and the second group will start 20 minutes later. Also for the long distance runners, the start is at 9 o'clock. Before 9 o'clock, every team captain has to register and pick up their race numbers. 

By clicking on one of the buttons, you can find the race-, cycle- and car route for 2022:

For an explanation on how to read the route, click on route explanation.

To organise your cycling routes efficiently, get some more information by clicking on organising a cycling team.